Patient Reviews

Reviews for Lawrence Family Practice Center

PATIENT FEEDBACK

Lawrence Family Practice Center is pleased to be your go-to for comprehensive family services, including pediatrics, obstetrics, gynecology, urgent care, routine physicals, and more. Our highly skilled physicians get to know our patients and their families one on one to build long-lasting relationships. We understand that choosing a primary care physician can be a difficult decision. To help you understand if our team could be a great fit for your family, we invite you to read our long account of patient testimonials from people just like you who have experienced our compassionate and attentive care firsthand.

Filter40 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  May 30, 2021

Dr. Johanning is the best!! He was my doctor through a difficult pregnancy and always listened to my concerns and never made me feel rushed. I’ve since switched my husband and two children to him and we all love him. Best doctor we’ve ever had! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2021

It is where I see my PCP at when needed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 22, 2021

Excellent Covid-19 protocols; friendly, prompt, accurate service; knowledgeable, caring, respectable, and helpful More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 22, 2021

The staff members, from docs to technicians to nurses to receptionists, are all incredibly kind! I don’t ever feel like I am a problem to them. Second to medical knowledge, kindness is the thing I think is most crucial in creating a trusting relationship with your medical team and these people have that in spades. Medical knowledge, of course, most important, and I’m impressed in this category as well! Pick this team to support your health. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 22, 2021

Amazing and patient nurses. Everyone is so kind. The place is clean and organized. Dr. Blake Phipps is an amazing Doctor. Hes patient, kind and explains everything clearly. He makes sure you understand. He really cares. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.I.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

As new doctors take the sacred Hippocratic oath they vow that "in purity and according to divine law will I carry out my life and my art." My family has been a LFPC client for over 30 years. This practice is nothing short of exemplary and features a team of caring physicians that can only be described as consumate professionals. As we travel through life turmoil, age, and disease become inevitable. Great doctors get to shield and foster the flickering flame that is human life at its most vulnerable. Often they are the difference between hope and tragedy. Our children are now adults. They have seen thousands of people and will see many more...but the very first one was Dr. Carla Phipps. That will never be forgotten. We have faced many challenges that we managed to overcome because of the amazing people working at Lawrence Family Practice Center. They took an ancient oath and have never forgotten it. A group of special people who carry out their life and art in purity and according to divine law should be cherished and celebrated. We love them and literally owe them our lives. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

Friendly and efficient. Always feel well taken care of More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

The doctors & nurses are great ! The staff is very knowledgeable and supportive. Convenient hours of operation including weeknd's Plus they have a walk-in clinic. Very convenient, a lab on-site. Easy access into the building with abundance of parking close to entrance. The doctors do an an excellent job of supporting each other so, if your doctor is not available, you'll get in to see a doctors that is available. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

Nurses here could be a bit more caring and the doctors could be more straightforward in sharing what your exam results are, given the amount you'll spend for care in this private practice. They do have a lot of care services to avail of whenever LMH doctors are simply unavailable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 22, 2020

This office is wonderfully run. Everyone is sooo friendly there it feels like “family.” Dr. Carla is AMAZING!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 31, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

It's a good feeling knowing your child's health is in good and competent hands. I have never been made to feel as though I'm overreacting or being too careful when it comes to concerns I have regarding my daughter's health and medical issues. I do believe Dr. Kalb genuinely cares about my daughter's health and that any concerns we may have are addressed. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Very friendly and polite staff. Doctor was very helpful and knowledgeable. Very prompt with our appointment and check in. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Dr. Blake Phipps and his staff are amazing and always make me feel like I’m not just a patient on the schedule. They actually care about my family. I would recommend them to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Dr Blake Phipps has taken very good care of my son when he had some unusual health issues. Dr Phipps has a lovely combination of professionalism and caring and I appreciate it very much. He has a great bedside manner and is always quick to respond to our concerns and calls. Thank you Dr Blake Phipps!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

I would have died years ago without them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

I had a fantastic experience with Dr. Blake!! He had access to my entire file but took the time to also ask me questions about my health and get to know me. I really appreciated that he went above and beyond and was extremely helpful in answering my questions. Definitely a top recommendation for a local family practice doctor!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

Everyone at Lawrence family Physicians were so kind, caring and compassionate toward me as I battled a three day migraine. They took excellent care of me, and I’m a new patient, but that didn’t stop them from giving me wonderful, personalized care to help me get better. They didn’t give up on me! And I’m so thankful for all of them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I always have a great experience here but the last -- when I showed up with a kidney stone -- was the best. They took care of me right away with compassion for the amount of pain I was in. 5 stars for LFP!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

Dr. Amanda Miller was thorough and took her time to try to diagnose me. She took the time to understand my history and to consider my symptoms. My visit was excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

Lawrence Family Practice iis a caing medical practice. I have received excellent care. The staff is friendly and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I have been seeing Dr. Carla Phipps since I was a student at the University of Kansas (1996-2000). She and the other medical professionals at Lawrence Family Practice Center have given me and my two children --whom Dr. Carla delivered -- great care. I like that the facility is a one stop shop: doctor, pharmacy, x-ray, lab. So nice for a busy family! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I've been going here for years and wouldn't trade Dr Kalb for anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

They've been good over many years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I have attended LFP for 40 years. They are very knowledgeable and friendly. My 3 children have always gone to LFP as well as now my grandchildren. It’s comforting to have a place you can trust with your health when those medical issues arise. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2019

Have been a patient for 8 years and never had an issue with billing/insurance and very few issues with wait times (2x in all the years). After my regular physician left the practice, I visited other physicians and finally connected with Dr. Amanda Miller, who is a comforting, kind person and knowledgeable physician. Miller's nursing staff is highly communicative; They update online charts quickly and also call with any results or issues. The sonogram technician is highly experienced (25+ years) and friendly. The lab technician takes blood samples painlessly and there is very little wait for blood work. Lawrence Family Practice has been a staple for my health care throughout these years and I plan to keep utilizing their care and expertise for years to come. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2019

Amanda Miller is the best she has helped me through some health problems and helped me through stuff when I was scared . The nurses are fantastic as well More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

My family has been extremely happy with Lawrence Family Practice. I liked it so much the first time I went there that my whole family started going as well. Everyone we have met there has been knowledgeable, polite, and helpful. We especially like Dr. Kyle Miller and his nurse. I have a 2 year old son, the office is very child friendly which makes for easier appointments for him and me. I am always able to get an appointment in a reasonable time as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

Chad Johanning saved my daughters life! 3 years ago we went to see a doctor because our daughter was experiencing weird "movements". He was the on-call doctor and he immediately recognized this was a neurological issue and got us set up the following Monday with a doctor at Children's Mercy. Since then we have seen him for all of our family members. When he is unavailable we have seen one of the newest members and we are just as happy. The check in process is seamless, the staff are incredibly helpful and the doctors have been there for all of us. I would recommend them to everyone. No matter which doctor you see you are in good hands. Oh and billing is so very helpful and works with us on payments and I have never had a bad experience. They take care of my family of 5 from the minor to the severe and listen to our concerns. Thank You LFP!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

Absolutely love this facility, all of the doctor's I've had a chance to see, and the friendly nursing team. As a veterinarian I'm pretty picky about where I get my own medical care and want to make sure I work with a team who knows their stuff. When I moved to the area and saw all that they offered here I was really impressed. They have so much right there that I don't have to go driving all over the place. I have my regular appointments, gynecology appointments, OB appointments, kids wellness appointments, ultrasounds, x-rays, labwork drawn, walk-in urgent appointments, and pharmacy all in the same place. To boot, with Dr. McKeon's additional training in obstetrics she was able to deliver my son at Lawrence Memorial Hospital. The one trade off is that because they're doing so much (especially walk-ins and emergency deliveries) sometimes you wait a bit longer or they ask you to reschedule. I bring a book and the waiting room is comfortable. I've always found though that when it's my turn, they give me the same time and attention as they've given everyone else and I never feel rushed. Trust me, as a fellow medical professional I sometimes have a lot of questions. Dr. McKeon has been great about getting me consistent answers based on data and recent studies, and finding me an answer if she doesn't know it offhand. She's gone out of her way to work with labs and my health insurance when we were looking at specific tests I needed because I'm a veterinarian. If I have a question I can contact her via the online patient portal and their team gets back to me promptly. My husband has seen Dr. Bradley Phipps and loved his blunt straight-forward style. I've also seen Dr. Kalb, Dr. Johanning, and Dr. Carla Phipps and loved them all. Unfortunately most people only take the time to review when they're frustrated, but every time I interact with these folks again I want to write more good things. (This time it was for great online advice via the patient portal on strategies for handling my son's cold - which they've seen on physical exam recently.) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

my family came from western ks 13 yrs ago. and we started out with this office and we still stay with them. they have been wonderful to our family. and if your kids catch something, and a day or two you do they will assist you too. we have never once thought twice ever changing. we had our doctor leave and went to another one there and we heard they came back and switched right back. these staff care about you. and they try there hardest to help you or your family members. people have to remember there to help best they can. and sometimes it doesn't work out were only human ans so are they. and if you have to wait longer then you have to we have to also remember our world there are more and more people coming into this world. so that means more people. i get it your in a hurry but be patient.. theses staff members are great people and they help you in every way they can.. this family here isnt going any where were still gonna keep going back as long as we can.. were very very happy clients for this practice. have a great day. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2017

We have been going to LPF since 2012. We primarily see Dr. Mckeon. She is an excellent doctor! She has seen all my kids since they were babies. We have had a few very serious health issues over the last few years that required hospitalization and we have had a birth through her as well! She is very professional, very caring, very thorough, and hands down the BEST delivery doctor I've ever had! I'm so glad we chose her over sticking with our pediatrician!!! We have also seen a few of the other doctors. They were just as awesome! The nurses there are awesome too! My kids enjoy going here (except when it's shot time lol) which is important to us. PLUS they have a pharmacy right there so it's a one-stop-shop!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2017

Been my doctor for 23 years, won't go anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2016

Upon typing in "Lawrence Family Practice" to get their phone number so I could call and make an appointment for my daughter, I saw that this place only has 2.8 stars. Most of the reviews are from 1+ years ago. So I feel compelled to leave a new, up to date review. We love going here and we love our doctor, Dr. Chad Johanning. He was our Doctor for our first born before he moved to Lawrence and we now travel to see him at LFP. We have never waited in the waiting room for long-even when it seemed like there were quite a few people in the waiting area. The receptionists are always prompt and nice on the phone (the receptionist was my least favorite thing about the last place we were). My only complaint would be the very front desk at the office-this is literally the only place we have ever waited longer than I'd like. Even then-the receptionists are always kind and helpful. If you are looking for a provider and specifically a family doctor for your kids or if you are a mom to be-I highly suggest Dr. Johanning. We wouldn't trust our family's health with anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2016

Heather Yates is top notch. She listens, gets it, and acts on it - whatever 'it' is. The office staff is always pleasant and the team on a whole is efficient. The facility is well kept. I have been seeing Heather forever. 10 stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2015

It seems like a lot of people here are confusing customer service with medical care. The receptionist is not my doctor. Dr. Fowler is, and she has been very thorough in dealing with a variety of my health concerns for a few years now. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2015

Dr. Kalb at Lawrence Family Practice Center is our new family physician. She is competent, friendly, and easy to schedule an appointment with. Perfect for us! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from W.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2013

Lawrence Family Practice has cared for my family well for over twenty years. Dr. Brad Phipps has provided me with fine personal care while we were without insurance and everything was out of pocket for my children, my wife and myself. He has been kind, pragmatic, humorous and when I was too heavy and my BP was too high did not let it slide. He got my attention to improve my diet and exercise. I have been treated by a dozen different physicians in my 60 plus years and I have always found Dr Brad Phipps to be a fine and caring physician. -William R Edmonds More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.