Patient Reviews

Reviews for Lawrence Family Practice

PATIENT FEEDBACK

Lawrence Family Practice Center is pleased to be your go-to for comprehensive family services, including pediatrics, obstetrics, gynecology, urgent care, routine physicals, and more. Our highly skilled physicians get to know our patients and their families one on one to build long-lasting relationships. We understand that choosing a primary care physician can be a difficult decision. To help you understand if our team could be a great fit for your family, we invite you to read our long account of patient testimonials from people just like you who have experienced our compassionate and attentive care firsthand.

Filter63 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.V.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 26, 2021

I had Moved from Kansas City,Kansas to Lawrence, Ks last year and I found a great place of people who are so nice and so sweet and my primary care physician is soo sweet and amazing and I recommend her to anyone who is looking for a Primary care physician her name is Alana Ryan she is soo sweet and she will literally sit down talk to you and listen and do what she has to do just so amazing like Hands down!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Google  |  May 30, 2021

Dr. Johanning is the best!! He was my doctor through a difficult pregnancy and always listened to my concerns and never made me feel rushed. I’ve since switched my husband and two children to him and we all love him. Best doctor we’ve ever had! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 26, 2021

It is where I see my PCP at when needed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 21, 2021

Everything about this place is wonderful. I see Dr. Amanda Miller since 2018. Dr. Miller and her staff always make you feel at ease. They are attentive and answer all questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 22, 2021

Excellent Covid-19 protocols; friendly, prompt, accurate service; knowledgeable, caring, respectable, and helpful More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 22, 2021

The staff members, from docs to technicians to nurses to receptionists, are all incredibly kind! I don’t ever feel like I am a problem to them. Second to medical knowledge, kindness is the thing I think is most crucial in creating a trusting relationship with your medical team and these people have that in spades. Medical knowledge, of course, most important, and I’m impressed in this category as well! Pick this team to support your health. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 22, 2021

Amazing and patient nurses. Everyone is so kind. The place is clean and organized. Dr. Blake Phipps is an amazing Doctor. Hes patient, kind and explains everything clearly. He makes sure you understand. He really cares. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.I.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

As new doctors take the sacred Hippocratic oath they vow that "in purity and according to divine law will I carry out my life and my art." My family has been a LFPC client for over 30 years. This practice is nothing short of exemplary and features a team of caring physicians that can only be described as consumate professionals. As we travel through life turmoil, age, and disease become inevitable. Great doctors get to shield and foster the flickering flame that is human life at its most vulnerable. Often they are the difference between hope and tragedy. Our children are now adults. They have seen thousands of people and will see many more...but the very first one was Dr. Carla Phipps. That will never be forgotten. We have faced many challenges that we managed to overcome because of the amazing people working at Lawrence Family Practice Center. They took an ancient oath and have never forgotten it. A group of special people who carry out their life and art in purity and according to divine law should be cherished and celebrated. We love them and literally owe them our lives. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

The doctors & nurses are great ! The staff is very knowledgeable and supportive. Convenient hours of operation including weeknd's Plus they have a walk-in clinic. Very convenient, a lab on-site. Easy access into the building with abundance of parking close to entrance. The doctors do an an excellent job of supporting each other so, if your doctor is not available, you'll get in to see a doctors that is available. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

Friendly and efficient. Always feel well taken care of More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 22, 2020

Nurses here could be a bit more caring and the doctors could be more straightforward in sharing what your exam results are, given the amount you'll spend for care in this private practice. They do have a lot of care services to avail of whenever LMH doctors are simply unavailable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 03, 2020

Everything! Been seeing Dr. Carla for 20 years and am heart broken she is retiring! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 22, 2020

This office is wonderfully run. Everyone is sooo friendly there it feels like “family.” Dr. Carla is AMAZING!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 31, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

It's a good feeling knowing your child's health is in good and competent hands. I have never been made to feel as though I'm overreacting or being too careful when it comes to concerns I have regarding my daughter's health and medical issues. I do believe Dr. Kalb genuinely cares about my daughter's health and that any concerns we may have are addressed. Thank you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Very friendly and polite staff. Doctor was very helpful and knowledgeable. Very prompt with our appointment and check in. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Dr Blake Phipps has taken very good care of my son when he had some unusual health issues. Dr Phipps has a lovely combination of professionalism and caring and I appreciate it very much. He has a great bedside manner and is always quick to respond to our concerns and calls. Thank you Dr Blake Phipps!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2020

Dr. Blake Phipps and his staff are amazing and always make me feel like I’m not just a patient on the schedule. They actually care about my family. I would recommend them to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 10, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

I would have died years ago without them! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

Everyone at Lawrence family Physicians were so kind, caring and compassionate toward me as I battled a three day migraine. They took excellent care of me, and I’m a new patient, but that didn’t stop them from giving me wonderful, personalized care to help me get better. They didn’t give up on me! And I’m so thankful for all of them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 22, 2020

I had a fantastic experience with Dr. Blake!! He had access to my entire file but took the time to also ask me questions about my health and get to know me. I really appreciated that he went above and beyond and was extremely helpful in answering my questions. Definitely a top recommendation for a local family practice doctor!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 01, 2020

Feeling healthier than I have in more years than I can recall, I have Dr. Johanning to thank. He is always patient, never makes assumptions, and addresses any concerns I might have. If he does not have an immediate diagnosis, he does whatever is necessary to find the answers and pursue an appropriate treatment. He is a knowledgeable and trustworthy professional who cares enough to go the distance. The Lawrence medical community is fortunate to have Dr. Johanning as a healthcare provider here. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 29, 2020

You won’t find anybody better. He is excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I always have a great experience here but the last -- when I showed up with a kidney stone -- was the best. They took care of me right away with compassion for the amount of pain I was in. 5 stars for LFP!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

Dr. Amanda Miller was thorough and took her time to try to diagnose me. She took the time to understand my history and to consider my symptoms. My visit was excellent. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

Lawrence Family Practice iis a caing medical practice. I have received excellent care. The staff is friendly and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I have been seeing Dr. Carla Phipps since I was a student at the University of Kansas (1996-2000). She and the other medical professionals at Lawrence Family Practice Center have given me and my two children --whom Dr. Carla delivered -- great care. I like that the facility is a one stop shop: doctor, pharmacy, x-ray, lab. So nice for a busy family! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I like my doctors and nurses very much. Parking is easy. I recommend the doctors and nurses and practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I've been going here for years and wouldn't trade Dr Kalb for anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

I have attended LFP for 40 years. They are very knowledgeable and friendly. My 3 children have always gone to LFP as well as now my grandchildren. It’s comforting to have a place you can trust with your health when those medical issues arise. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2020

They've been good over many years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 09, 2020

I have been a patient of LFPC for 15 years. Dr Johanning has been our primary for about the last two years and he also delivered my son. Best doctor we’ve ever had by far! Very knowledgeable and never makes us feel rushed even though I know he’s super busy. Always listens to our concerns and makes sure we understand his recommendations. Highly recommend! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Feb 20, 2020

Dr. Phipps listens - We found Dr. Blake Phipps patient, caring, and thorough. He takes his time and asks good questions. He did follow up research and consulted with other doctors in the office about our case before the next appointment and had good recommendation. He verbalized his commitment to stay on our case and help as best he could. We have been please with his care. He is a young doctor, knowledgeable and not arrogant. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2019

Have been a patient for 8 years and never had an issue with billing/insurance and very few issues with wait times (2x in all the years). After my regular physician left the practice, I visited other physicians and finally connected with Dr. Amanda Miller, who is a comforting, kind person and knowledgeable physician. Miller's nursing staff is highly communicative; They update online charts quickly and also call with any results or issues. The sonogram technician is highly experienced (25+ years) and friendly. The lab technician takes blood samples painlessly and there is very little wait for blood work. Lawrence Family Practice has been a staple for my health care throughout these years and I plan to keep utilizing their care and expertise for years to come. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2019

Amanda Miller is the best she has helped me through some health problems and helped me through stuff when I was scared . The nurses are fantastic as well More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 28, 2019

Just love my Doctor. Doctor Kyle Miller always listens and takes his time with each patient. Will miss him. I am moving to Missouri next month. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 23, 2018

Dr Johanning has been our primary physician since our son was six weeks old; three years. We really like him. He's nice and approachable. The staff at the front desk are not always friendly, but customer service is not an easy job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 06, 2018

My family and I have used this office, for 5+ years. We have never had any issues. The staff and doctors are great. I highly recommend this office. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 01, 2018

I love LFPC, I drive 45 miles to get to LFPC, but it's worth the drive! I have been seen by most if the doctors or physician assistants over the years. I have been a patient for almost 30 years. Dr. Carla Phipps and her nurse Misti are the best! I have obviously been happy with all my medical needs being meet. I highly recommend LFPC! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 01, 2018

I love LFPC, I drive 45 miles to get to LFPC, but it's worth the drive! I have been seen by most if the doctors or physician assistants over the years. I have been a patient for almost 30 years. Dr. Carla Phipps and her nurse Misti are the best! I have obviously been happy with all my medical needs being meet. I highly recommend LFPC! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

Absolutely love this facility, all of the doctor's I've had a chance to see, and the friendly nursing team. As a veterinarian I'm pretty picky about where I get my own medical care and want to make sure I work with a team who knows their stuff. When I moved to the area and saw all that they offered here I was really impressed. They have so much right there that I don't have to go driving all over the place. I have my regular appointments, gynecology appointments, OB appointments, kids wellness appointments, ultrasounds, x-rays, labwork drawn, walk-in urgent appointments, and pharmacy all in the same place. To boot, with Dr. McKeon's additional training in obstetrics she was able to deliver my son at Lawrence Memorial Hospital. The one trade off is that because they're doing so much (especially walk-ins and emergency deliveries) sometimes you wait a bit longer or they ask you to reschedule. I bring a book and the waiting room is comfortable. I've always found though that when it's my turn, they give me the same time and attention as they've given everyone else and I never feel rushed. Trust me, as a fellow medical professional I sometimes have a lot of questions. Dr. McKeon has been great about getting me consistent answers based on data and recent studies, and finding me an answer if she doesn't know it offhand. She's gone out of her way to work with labs and my health insurance when we were looking at specific tests I needed because I'm a veterinarian. If I have a question I can contact her via the online patient portal and their team gets back to me promptly. My husband has seen Dr. Bradley Phipps and loved his blunt straight-forward style. I've also seen Dr. Kalb, Dr. Johanning, and Dr. Carla Phipps and loved them all. Unfortunately most people only take the time to review when they're frustrated, but every time I interact with these folks again I want to write more good things. (This time it was for great online advice via the patient portal on strategies for handling my son's cold - which they've seen on physical exam recently.) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

my family came from western ks 13 yrs ago. and we started out with this office and we still stay with them. they have been wonderful to our family. and if your kids catch something, and a day or two you do they will assist you too. we have never once thought twice ever changing. we had our doctor leave and went to another one there and we heard they came back and switched right back. these staff care about you. and they try there hardest to help you or your family members. people have to remember there to help best they can. and sometimes it doesn't work out were only human ans so are they. and if you have to wait longer then you have to we have to also remember our world there are more and more people coming into this world. so that means more people. i get it your in a hurry but be patient.. theses staff members are great people and they help you in every way they can.. this family here isnt going any where were still gonna keep going back as long as we can.. were very very happy clients for this practice. have a great day. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

Chad Johanning saved my daughters life! 3 years ago we went to see a doctor because our daughter was experiencing weird "movements". He was the on-call doctor and he immediately recognized this was a neurological issue and got us set up the following Monday with a doctor at Children's Mercy. Since then we have seen him for all of our family members. When he is unavailable we have seen one of the newest members and we are just as happy. The check in process is seamless, the staff are incredibly helpful and the doctors have been there for all of us. I would recommend them to everyone. No matter which doctor you see you are in good hands. Oh and billing is so very helpful and works with us on payments and I have never had a bad experience. They take care of my family of 5 from the minor to the severe and listen to our concerns. Thank You LFP!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2018

My family has been extremely happy with Lawrence Family Practice. I liked it so much the first time I went there that my whole family started going as well. Everyone we have met there has been knowledgeable, polite, and helpful. We especially like Dr. Kyle Miller and his nurse. I have a 2 year old son, the office is very child friendly which makes for easier appointments for him and me. I am always able to get an appointment in a reasonable time as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 31, 2018

I recently became a patient of Dr. Johanning after Heather Yates left the practice. Dr. Johanning has been friendly, knowledgeable, and thorough in his examinations and how he explains his findings. I have no trouble recommending him and will continue to visit him for my own and my family’s medical care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 26, 2018

Dr. Mckeon delievered both of my children. Been her patient many years! Great doctor! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Aug 30, 2017

Five Stars - Dr. Johanning has great bedside manner. He takes time to talk to you and explain any questions you might have. I always leave his office understanding my plan of care. He is not only my PCP, but also my OB/ GYN. Dr. Johanning is also my husband's PCP, and he is very happy with his care too. Highly recommended! Ps. The telephone staff there isn't always in the best mood, but Dr. Johanning is!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2017

We have been going to LPF since 2012. We primarily see Dr. Mckeon. She is an excellent doctor! She has seen all my kids since they were babies. We have had a few very serious health issues over the last few years that required hospitalization and we have had a birth through her as well! She is very professional, very caring, very thorough, and hands down the BEST delivery doctor I've ever had! I'm so glad we chose her over sticking with our pediatrician!!! We have also seen a few of the other doctors. They were just as awesome! The nurses there are awesome too! My kids enjoy going here (except when it's shot time lol) which is important to us. PLUS they have a pharmacy right there so it's a one-stop-shop!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2017

Been my doctor for 23 years, won't go anywhere else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 15, 2017

My husband and I have gone to Lawrence Family Practice for over 20 years. Brad Phipps is my husband’s doctor and Carla Phipps is my doctor. We have had excellent care every time we have had a visit. They are smart, top notch doctors! Could not be happier with our care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 28, 2017

The attention and advice I’ve received during my tenure at LFPC has been truly exceptional. Dr. McKeon is my primary caregiver but I have also been seen by Dr. Carla Phipps, Heather Yates, and Dr. Johanning. The nursing staff is fantastic and I find it incredibly convenient to have lab, X-ray, and a Pharmacy all on site. LFPC provides the full package. I feel like I have my own personal team of medical professionals collaborating with me on my wellness. In my opinion, Dr. McKeon’s most impressive characteristic is her keen knowledge of the latest research. She references medical journal articles to inform me of the latest treatment options when we are crafting my wellness plan. She is thorough in her assessment, respectful in her interactions, and she is an excellent listener. You can’t go wrong with LFPC. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 03, 2016

I have always had pleasant and caring experiences with Dr. Kalb More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2016

Upon typing in "Lawrence Family Practice" to get their phone number so I could call and make an appointment for my daughter, I saw that this place only has 2.8 stars. Most of the reviews are from 1+ years ago. So I feel compelled to leave a new, up to date review. We love going here and we love our doctor, Dr. Chad Johanning. He was our Doctor for our first born before he moved to Lawrence and we now travel to see him at LFP. We have never waited in the waiting room for long-even when it seemed like there were quite a few people in the waiting area. The receptionists are always prompt and nice on the phone (the receptionist was my least favorite thing about the last place we were). My only complaint would be the very front desk at the office-this is literally the only place we have ever waited longer than I'd like. Even then-the receptionists are always kind and helpful. If you are looking for a provider and specifically a family doctor for your kids or if you are a mom to be-I highly suggest Dr. Johanning. We wouldn't trust our family's health with anyone else. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2016

Heather Yates is top notch. She listens, gets it, and acts on it - whatever 'it' is. The office staff is always pleasant and the team on a whole is efficient. The facility is well kept. I have been seeing Heather forever. 10 stars! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 26, 2015

We love Dr. Johanning and always trust his opinion. That is why we followed him from Atchison!! Our Favorite Dr. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2015

Dr. Kalb at Lawrence Family Practice Center is our new family physician. She is competent, friendly, and easy to schedule an appointment with. Perfect for us! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2015

It seems like a lot of people here are confusing customer service with medical care. The receptionist is not my doctor. Dr. Fowler is, and she has been very thorough in dealing with a variety of my health concerns for a few years now. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from W.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 22, 2013

Lawrence Family Practice has cared for my family well for over twenty years. Dr. Brad Phipps has provided me with fine personal care while we were without insurance and everything was out of pocket for my children, my wife and myself. He has been kind, pragmatic, humorous and when I was too heavy and my BP was too high did not let it slide. He got my attention to improve my diet and exercise. I have been treated by a dozen different physicians in my 60 plus years and I have always found Dr Brad Phipps to be a fine and caring physician. -William R Edmonds More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 25, 2013

I am relatively new in town, and was looking for a good pediatrician for my infant son. Lawrence Family Practice Center was recommended to me by a friend. I’ve been twice now - once for a minor issue my son had, and once for my son’s well-baby visit and immunizations.I could not be happier with this place! The staff is incredibly helpful, the nurses are amazing, and the one doctor I’ve seen briefly was very nice and helpful. At my son’s well-baby appointment, I had a concern about an issue for myself, and the nurse examining my son took a look at it an immediately got the doctor to confirm that I needed to have it taken care of right away. Even though I wasn’t the one in for the appointment, they got me checked in quickly, going so far as holding my little boy while I filled out paperwork. I really, really loves my health care provider in California - Lawrence Family Practice Center is right up there with them, so I am extremely happy my friend recommended them! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 08, 2012

I’ve been going here for about 7 years now and I’ve never seen another doctor in Lawrence. The only negative thing about this place is that the ladies that work the check-in desk are terrible. They are so unfriendly and just downright rude. If my doctor wasn’t awesome, I would not return here. I like Heather Yates who is a Nurse Practitioner under Dr. McKeon. I’ve seen Dr. McKeon as well, but prefer Heather. She always takes the time to answer all my questions and I never feel rushed with her. I’ve seen both Dr. Phipps here and have always felt extremely rushed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 17, 2010

This place deserves major props. My wife is pregnant and we are going to doctor here who is an OB and a family practitioner. So we are seeing the doctor who will see the baby grow. The people here have been nothing but friendly. They have done everything they can to make sure that my wife’s pregnancy goes well. The waiting area is nice. Separate play area for the kids and not sitting right next to another patient. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 29, 2010

Well, coming from a man who hates doctors with a royal passion, this place has their stuff together. With a family practice, ob/gyn, dermatologist and cosmetics, AND their own pharmacy on site Lawrence Family Practice has everything a sick person would ever need. They’ve got the checking-in routine down pat. Fill out paperwork once, never fill it out again. Both times I’ve had to go in due to illness, I’ve never had to wait more that 10 minutes in the waiting room. I’ve had two different doctors now, both of which were professional, patient, and had a wonderful bedside manner. No rushing rudeness here like alot of other doctors. The building appears to be under 3 years old, with a warmer, friendlier interior than most medical offices. Also notably absent is that horrible sanitizer/medical scrub smell so common to other offices. Little things like kleenex, hand sanitizer, and ample seating go a long way towards patient comfort. No muzak and a separate children’s play area do nothing but further the great experience. Nothing is worse than having to sit elbow-to-elbow with an energetic 3 year old while you feel like complete crap. If you’re new to Lawrence and hunting for a doctor, I’d definitely recommend you check out Lawrence Family Practice Center. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.